new user- wind tunnel

Starting point for beginners questions.
zaynah

new user- wind tunnel

Post by zaynah »

hi world,

this is my first time with holograms.

i have designed a wind tunnel 1 metre length by 80 cm width by 30 cm height.
I wish to do its hologram to visualise.
Can anyone point me in the right direction.ie wat to do? how to start? what material to buy etc..

An advance thanks to anyone who reply me..

cheers
zaynah
holomaker

new user- wind tunnel

Post by holomaker »

This will be tough to make an actual hologram of the air currents with out using a pulse laser. You could set up an interferometer to see the air movments ..........
zaynah

new user- wind tunnel

Post by zaynah »

dear Holomaker

can you tell me more?

In my wind tunnel, smoke are being sent to view the air currents..
I wish to use the laser beams..

Thanks in advance
Ed Wesly

new user- wind tunnel

Post by Ed Wesly »

So it seems that you want to make holograms of the smoke in the wind tunnel? Then definitely you will need a pulsed laser, either a frequency doubled Nd:YAG as they are called, or a ruby laser.

I do have such a device, a JK/Lumonics HLS-2, output one Joule, which would be capable of recording such an event. Where are you located?
"We're the flowers in the dustbin" Sex Pistols
Jem

new user- wind tunnel

Post by Jem »

Or is he(?) wanting to use 'real time' interferometry to see the stress patterns on objects in the tunnel?

Have I got the correct terminology there?, i've seen it done with a 'wing' as wind speed increases you can see the stress points. Similar to cross polarisation, but different ;). If I knew what I was talking about it'd be a good suggestion, lol :)
holomaker

new user- wind tunnel

Post by holomaker »