Donate and Help Conservation Research?

Sell or buy stuff.
Forum rules
Finding new homes for holography-related items is encouraged. Even commercial enterprises with goods to offer are welcome as long as it is in the spirit of members helping members. If a for-sale post reads like an infomercial, though, you have probably crossed the line of acceptability.
ConservationTech

Donate and Help Conservation Research?

Post by ConservationTech »

Hi There,

I am a Conservation Technician who works with Conservators at the Smithsonian Institution.

For several years, we have been studying a hologram. This hologram, we believe to be a white-light-illuminated reflection type (Denisyuk type) hologram comprised of Silver Halide Gelatin (SHG) image forming emulsion on a glass support adhered to a black mount.

We are curious to experiment with damage and repair on test material. I am writing now, to request that test material. These experiments could be shared in a forthcoming presentation at the American Institute for Conservation conference this summer.

We would make sure to preform photodocumention on the object before and after experimentation. Again, experimentation means damaging the hologram, intentionally. We would make sure to share the artist's name and credit them in our presentation.

Q: Given the above, Would anyone be interested in donating a glass white-light reflection hologram? Unbacked/transparent mount, wherein the emulsion is directly on glass?
jrburns47

Re: Donate and Help Conservation Research?

Post by jrburns47 »

Do you know the manufacturer and specific emulsion type of the plate you’ve been testing?
Apparently similar work has been going on at NorthWestern as well.
jrburns47

Post by jrburns47 »